Since becoming vegan, I’ve always been a bit sceptical about whether pubs offer vegan options. Years ago, one of my closest friends and her husband decided to go vegan and once I realised how many non-vegan ingredients were in almost everything we buy, I decided to pay more attention to the menus and to see which restaurants had clearly marked vegan options. Imagine my surprise when, by accident, my OH and I stopped by The Auld Hoose for a quick drink and noticed how many vegan options they offered.
There are a lot of times when we don’t think about how much animal products feature in our daily lives until we come across it. I remember the first time after going vegan when my OH and I decided to go and watch a film at the cinema…and I realised most of their chocolates and sweets would probably not be suitable for vegans. I ended up bringing a bag of my own sweets as back up. Turns out most of the chocolates and sweets weren’t suitable for vegans, but don’t let that put you down. I was invited to the Odeon at Fort Kinnaird last week for the launch of the remake of Stephen King’s ‘IT’ and I was very pleased to find that there are snacks that vegans can eat!